Monday, July 24, 2017

Shattered by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Shattered
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

After the tragic loss of her mother, fifteen-year-old Natalie isn't sure how to move on with her life. She and her brother are sent to stay with family friend Joan--and her son, Adam--at a small, remote cabin. Natalie is sure this is going to be the worst spring break ever. Through a twist of fate, Natalie and Adam are left alone at the cabin . . . But when a raging storm hits and a falling tree destroys the cabin, Natalie and Adam must figure out how to survive. Shattered is from Survive, an EPIC Press series.



My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This was a fast short read that reaches out from the pages and just sucks you in.

I have read other books by Jennifer Skogen and I enjoyed them a lot, so when she offered me a chance to read this book, you best bet, I jumped quick at the chance. She did not disappoint. In fact, she blew it completely out of the water. Not only because this book was simply amazing, it was so different from anything else I have read by her. 

I must say, with most contemporary books, you are automatically hit with "insta-love" - it's like some unwritten rule that every author MUST punch you in the face with it in the first 5 pages otherwise your book will just be crap, I guess. (Yes, I do realize I exaggerated a little there, whatever. Move along) 
ANYWAY - I am so glad this book didn't have that! I felt like standing up and doing a cheer when the (eventually) love interest showed up and they weren't automatically sticking their tongues down each other's throats *que up stadium cheer*
What she did do, was ease you in to it. Like there were hints but it left you wondering "Will they or won't they?" 
BABY STEPS, PEOPLE! BABY STEPS! 
Of course when you do trip and fall into those feels, ain't not way in hell you are getting up out of them. Lol You're gonna lay there like "oo... this is kinda nice"

Haha

I really loved this story though. Really and truly. At first I really didn't like the main character. I thought she was snobby and "me me me" but I ended up loving her. I mean she lost her mom. No one is the same after losing a loved one. Everyone changes. Everyone. 

The emotions in this book were so real. I have no other way of putting it. I don't think there is another way of putting it really. I stated earlier that this book reaches out and pulls you in and that is what it does. You feel like you ARE the main character. Every emotion to every physical feeling she had, I felt them all. Nearly drowning is not a good sensation. Lemme tell ya. Lol 

Another plus was how freaking CLEAN this book was. I don't think I have ever read a YA book that was ever this clean. IT'S AMAZING!!!! (See other authors, it's doable! And still realistic!) 

This is a perfect read for any age in my opinion.

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Rowan Wood Legends by Olivia Wildenstein

Synopsis

Title: Rowan Wood Legends
Series: The Lost Clan #2
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Fae
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads


SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.
I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves.
On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend.
Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…




My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

When a forest hushes, danger rushes.


I CAN NOT GET A HANDLE ON MY EMOTIONS!!!!
I'm not even kidding. I finished this book last night and I'm still sitting here like "please say I didn't finish it. Tell me all that didn't happen."

So, Rowan Wood Legends picks up right where book one left off - but it had been so long since I read book one, I had to kinda relearn a few things. Not that that was a bad thing, it just made me kinda mad at myself that I didn't remembered what I needed to, especially since I love it so much. anyway, I really didn't expect this book to take off the way I did! Like HOLY CRAP! I really thought book one was magical... Man it doesn't have anything on this book. This book will blow you away. It is so rare for a author to out-best their first book (not being mean, just being honest) but Olivia Wildenstein has absolutely no problem proving that wrong.

Rowan Wood Legends is a rich, knuckle-biting, mind-blowing book that will leave you begging for more. It will make you change your mind about every single character. It flip you upside down and make you question every thought you have had.

Trust will be tested. People will be betrayed. Family will be questioned. You'll find out who your real friends are.

Ugh! Part of me wants to say so much because one character just makes me hate him so freaking much, I just want to throat punch him! I already didn't like him in book one because he "came back" - but by the end of book one, I was actually starting to like him.... Which makes me hate him even more by how book two rolled out. Like oh my gosh are you freaking for real!? And the guy I didn't like in book one, I'm starting to like now. I'm a mess. This is a mess. I told y'all I can't get a handle on my emotions.

Forget what you THINK you know because chances are, it will be flipped upside down and shaken to death like a empty bottle of ketchup.

Prepare for one hell of a emotional ride. It will leave you wanting more and demanding answers.

-

I gotta say, Cat's pimp hand was strong in this book. Lol She was slapping the hell out of people left and right, which I LOVE! It was so amazing so see her stand her ground. I would love to see her fight back more though. I really hope she rips Stella apart.... literally. And I really wouldn't mind seeing her throat punch Kajika a few hundred times. Yeah, I get he is from a different time, but I really hate his guts. He makes my skin crawl now.


I'm really wonder how much Cat can take before she says "Screw you all" and either helps no one or she goes crazy and goes on a killing spree of both sides.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

{Waiting On Wednesday} Fear Street Zombie Style

Greetings Ghosts and Ghouls!
Ya know, of all my years of blogging I've seen "Waiting on Wednesday" posts by other bloggers and I always thought "That looks like fun! I should do this."

Its okay - you can laugh. I'm laughing. 

Why? Because all I can think is that SpongeBob narrator's voice saying "858 years later" followed by me going "oh yeah, I was suppose to do this. Wednesday is tomorrow right? Yeah no. Lol I either miss it by a day or remember it three days to soon and always forget it on the actual day. So YAAAY!! I remembered it for once. Lol

Now I'm sitting here like wow... I've never gotten this far. What AM I waiting on? 

I literally can't think of any except 
Rowan Wood Legends by Olivia Wildenstein. I feel like I've been waiting a lifetime for this book! I literally just got the ARC so I still can't wait to read it. Lol *que up ultimate fangirl mode* 

The cover makes me so giddy! It's so freaking beautiful (just like book one!) both should totally be made into posters. Lol

Other than this, I'm not sure what other books I'm waiting on. Watch  - after I post this books will start scrolling though my brain like a computer window. Lol

What books are YOU waiting on? 


*image from Google - props to whoever made it*

Monday, July 17, 2017

Lets Play A Game - Liebster Awards

I was nominated by the awesome and beautiful Esther of BiteIntoBooks (Thank you so much!) I'm so excited! Can't wait to get this shindig started! YYEEEEEHOOOO!!!
Also: If you didn't know; The Liebster Awards is a way for bloggers to discover other blogs and nominate blogs that have under 200 readers.




Here are the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
3. Nominate 11 other blogs and give them 11 questions to answer on their post.

May the odds be ever in your favor!


1. What's your favorite genre to read and why?
Young Adult hands down. It is rare I ever read anything outside of YA. the why is simple. In every adult book you read, what is something that is abundant and in 99.8% of the books? Sex and cussing. I can never help but to get annoyed and say "You CAN have a story line without the sex and over use of cussing."
Sure, SOME YA has it's "sexual tension" but at least your not reading full frontal where his tongue is flicking and ding-dong is ditching.

Other than that, YA is actually believable. Even reading about fae or werewolves. It's believable. For some reason, in adult book, those just make me roll my eyes. Then again, those "creatures" 10 times out of 10 are horn-dog sexual objects. -gag.

2. What's the best book you've read in 2017? (You can only pick one!)
My brain just imploded. One? *falls to knees dramatically with my fists in the air* Whyyyy?!?!?!?
Yeah, no. Haha It's definitely Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.
This year has been really tough for me with books, I haven't given many books above 3 stars this year but I was in a reading slump when I picked up Everything Everything and thought "Eh, might as well see what the big deal is about this thing." I was hooked from page one. I wanted to reread it as soon as I finished it, that is how awesome it was. You can read my review HERE.


3. Is there a writer that totally blew you away with a book? Who is it?
This is a tougher question than best book. Lol When you say "blew away" do you mean in a good way or a bad way? Because if it's bad way -get your pitchforks and hate ready- I would have to say without a doubt John Green. Shocking right? Especially if you know me and know how much I loved TFIOS. But the thing is, I read that book - Abundance of Katherine's or something like that, and I barely made a dent before labeling it DNF from how horrible it was. Not just the story line but the characters. You can read my review HERE.
But if you want to know who blew me away in a good way... I have no answer. There are so many great authors out there who's name deserves to be on this list. But I will tell you what, instead of listing some popular authors, I'll list some Indie/Self publishing/New authors and you can see if you want to check them out.
Olivia Wildenstein
Quinn Loftis
Pembroke Sinclair

There are honestly a lot more I could post but I would be here all day doing that. Lol

4. What's your opinion on e-readers? Some people prefer physical books and some people love their e-reader, what do you think?
I love E-readers. when they first came out I was against them. I was one of the many "real books have pages!" stuff. Lol but I think eventually any true avid reader will break down and get a e-reader. Because we can't handle or fathom the thought of not having a book with us. Pretty sure most of us will say "bury me with this book... and that book.... aaand that book. Don't forget that book as well. Bury me with all my books. Library. You know what... just bury me under the library or scatter my ashes in there very morbidly" hahahah you get what I mean. XD

Don't get me wrong, I love physical books. I would prefer them over the e-book if I can afford it. But I think it is good to mix it up. Read some of each so you don't burn out so fast.


5. Is there a genre that you don't enjoy and why?
*see answer to number one*  Other than just plain adult, I'm honestly not big on Science Fiction, Non-Fiction, or Contemporary. Though, from time to time I will read contemporary. Doesn't mean it gets good ratings from me. Unless it is awesome like Everything Everything. Lol


6. What is the most positive experience for you because of being a Bookblogger?
The most positive thing would be all the great authors and fellow book lovers I have met. Sure there have been some bad seeds, but in the long run it is worth it. So to those who are new to the book-blogging game - don't give up. Times will get REALLY hard. You WILL question why you bother doing it. But try not to let it get you down. Do it for you and your fellow book lovers. :)


7. Do you have bookshelves? How do you organize them? *insert picture*
You WOULD ask for a picture of my bookshelves when my room is destroyed. Lol
I have 3 bookshelves that are all different sizes. Lol I tend to arrange mine tallest to smallest on each shelf. But I also try to keep all my series together. I put my most favorite books on the top self, and my least favorite on the very bottom. so it's tall to short, most favorite to least favorite. Least that is how I use to have it. Now they are all on the floor stacked in sizes against the wall. Hardback with Hardback and paperback with paperback. Lol Not sure how I will arrange them this time. But I will try to get a picture when I finish.....347,239,495,148 years from now. <_< >_>  When I'm not *cough-lazy-cough*


8. Paperback or Hardcover?
Both but if I could afford it, I would always get hardback. They are always tougher unlike a paperback where if you look at it wrong, the covers curl and the spine cracks. Lol


9. Would you one day want to write a book? Why or why not?
I would love to write a book someday. I actually have one started but can honestly never get past page one. Though right now, the reason I have stopped is because my laptop fried. I lost all my work and don't really want to work on it again until I am able to get a new one.
It's amazing how much you can get let go when you are writing a book. You can have so much stress on you but when you write, it's like it all melts away. Weird, but true.


10. What's your favorite book character of all times?
Katniss-freaking-Everdeen. I know a lot of people hate her and I honestly do not know why! She is so badass! Excuse my french but she is! There is no other way to describe her. I would give just about anything to be like her. She is so brave and strong. Lets be real here. If the world did go to crap, as it is already. If we were dropped in her situation - we would probably starve to death....or worse. But she adapted ya know. I mean yeah - she was born into it, she wasn't dropped into it. But she went out and made things happen. She fed and protected her family. I could go on and on about it but given if you READ the books, not just watched the movies, you'd know why she's so awesome.

11. If you could visit a world from a book, where would you go?
There are so many worlds I would love to go. Including the library in Beast's castle. And I would love to hang out with Maleficent. Lol But really... I would love to go to Hogwarts. I'm pretty sure a lot of people would say the same. But I mean.. who wouldn't want to go? The wizard world has a place for everyone. Everyone has friends there. No matter how rich and mean you are or how sweet and poor you are... you have a place with friends. I don't know. Their world just seems better than ours. Lol

Nominations:
Morrighan: Elysian Fields Book Reviews
Kat: Livin The Fandom Life
Angelena: Stars and Sonder
Kristie: Bookwormkristie
*I honestly don't know 11 full blogs right now because most of the others I would have tagged are MIA; so if you see this, feel free to nominate yourself!*
To those I have nominated, lets play a game. 
Below there are 11 questions. the device at your fingertips will help you answer these questions. You have a choice. Answer the 11 question and tag others to keep this award going.... or.... ignore this award and watch it die. Which will you choose? Choose wisely..... Let the games begin.

Questions:
1. What are your thoughts on people ripping/tearing/burning/painting book pages to make "art"?

2. What would you do if one of your favorite authors posted or said something against something you stand for? Would you stop reading their books? Or would you continue to read but ignore them?

3. What are your thoughts on authors trying to write books with characters of a different sex and age? Are you for them? Or do you think they should stick to what they know in their own sex?

4. What is the best book to movie adaption you have ever seen? Why?

5. Think of the genre you can't stand. What is one book you would possibly be willing to read from it and why?

6. What is your take on Mental Illness in books? What is one book that portrayed Mental Illness correctly in your point of view? Which did not?

7. Do you judge a book by it's cover? If so, what is a ugly cover that turned out to be a amazing book? What is one that had a beautiful cover that had a horrible story?

8. Insta-loves. What are your thoughts on them? If you are against them, what is at least one occasion you didn't mind reading about it?

9. What series do you wish would never end? If it already has, would you change the ending? Why?

10. What is your number one book pet peeve?

11. What would you want to tell new bloggers that you wish you knew when you started?

Friday, July 14, 2017

The Dementor Side of a Blogging Book Reviewer

Okay, maybe not so much dementor but definitely a bit dark.

I want to slow down and talk real for y'all a bit. And I want to apologize ahead of time for typos, I'm going on lack of sleep and endless cups of coffee.

 But that's a reviewer's life isn't it?
Promote book, read, promote, read, review, promote, somehow squeeze in time to use the bathroom - then get back on the grind and also somehow manage to promote your own blog while eating with your eyeballs glued to the screen.

Because it's our passion right? What we live for?

But when does it become to much?
-Is it when other reviewers attack us because we had a different thought on it than they did?

-Is it when authors get angry about a honest, but one star, review and attack us as well?

-Is it the days we go without sleep because we promised a review by a certain date?

-Or when we book endless tours and reviews with barely a thank you?

-Or maybe.... Just maybe it's when we swallow our pride and ask for help and the only help we get is one Facebook post with our blog link on it with a simple "check out this blog"

-Or it could be something a author said. A author you looked up too and trusted. Maybe they said something that made you question why you bother to keep doing this to yourself.




People know the stress authors go through.
The: Will people like this? Will a publisher publish me? Will I be a famous author? Is my writing even worth it?

We all know this.

But in the shadows. Behind that curtain located in Oz... Are the reviewers. The people who push and push and give and give.
Those same people who have spent so much time, money, soul, heart-everything... To help a book get somewhere....all while those authors are screaming "Pay no attention to those behind the curtain! I am the great and powerful author!"



If you think about it... Bloggers are self builders.


This is the end of my random thought of the day, I suppose.


What is everyone else's thoughts on this? Anything you want to add? I would really love to hear thoughts on this.


*image from google*

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Synopsis

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Mental Illness
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret. . . is to press play.
Clay Jensen doesn't want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.
Then Hannah's voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes-- and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.
All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his small town. . .
. . .and what he discovers changes his life forever.



My Thoughts
★ Star

And truthfully, I don't know what they could have said to sway me either way. Because maybe I was being selfish. Maybe I was just looking for attention. Maybe I just wanted to hear people discuss me and my problems.


Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Hannah Baker! That quote above is exactly all this book is about.

Thirteen Reasons Why... Oh how I hate thee - let me count thy ways. 

If you read this book and didn't get a headache, I want to question the function of your brain. The constant go between of point of views and of italic and normal text nearly killed my eyes. There was nothing separating them so if you read fast enough it all runs together and it is just annoying. 

I had said over and over and over that I would not read this book but I ended up winning a giveaway of a stack of books and 13 Reasons Why ended up being one of them. Seeing this book itself kept me in panic attacks because I had heard so many terrible things - triggers
but the more I sat and thought on it, I did want to read it, I wanted to be able to tell my friends why they shouldn't read this book because of those triggers on certain pages. I thought to myself, it'll be hard but I DO want to help - if that makes sense. 
It took me about 4 days of panic attacks to finally dive in and by chapter 3, I was no longer in panic. I. Was. Pissed.

I really expected this book to have a deep meaningful outcome - that would just leave you haunted because of the terror your read. But... that didn't happen. 

Hannah Baker has 13 reasons why she committed suicide. 
-grab your pitchforks now, because I'm sure I am about to piss a lot of fans off-
Her reasons were pathetic. At one point of the book one of the guys says "She was just looking for someone to blame" and I hate to agreed with him, but I do. 
DO NOT GET ME WRONG!
Suicide is not a joke or something to take lightly. But literally everything that happened to Hannah - was things that happen to EVERYONE in high school. People are mean. No ifs ands or buts. Whether you are in school, at work, in a store, or even talking online - people are mean. It happens to everyone - but you don't see people killing themselves over it - and a lot more people go through worse that Hannah ever did. 

Hannah just seemed spoiled she wanted to be famous-popular. She reminded me of all those women from the 20s-30s who committed suicide because they couldn't be actors like they wanted to be. And because that didn't happen and people were mean to her by spreading "rumors" she decided to kill herself. 

-I'm sure I am gonna catch a lot of hate for this but I really have to say it, the whole suicide thing was just stupid to me. Why? Because it took her months to do it. Took her weeks to to make her tapes. And I am sorry but when a person is really wanting to end their life - they do it within 24 hours. Trust me, I would know because I have been there - a lot of my friends have been there. So that was just off to me 

I also hated that the term suicide was called "disgusting". It's not. It's heart wrenching. Calling it disgusting is just adding more stigma.

This may contain minor spoilers so reader beware, if you don't mind - keep reading.
I hate Hannah. Her reasons to end her life were asinine. She could have stopped someone from being raped but she didn't. She sat there and let it all happen. To make matters worse - later in the book she gets in a hot tub with him, knowing damn well what he was capable of and KNEW what would happen - but yet it is still his fault - even though in addition she admits to not telling him to stop, so he didn't - again - he was still to blame. 

She puts the blame on SO. MANY. PEOPLE. like they were suppose to be able to read her mind. 

The last person on her list is the one who kinda tipped the scale and push her over the edge - when all he did was try to help. He gave her options: press charges, confront him, or let try to let it go (aka therapy) and because she didn't like those options, she added him to her list and killed herself and all I can think is .... "are you serious? What else were suppose to be offered? No one can rewind time" 

Most everything that happened to Hannah could have been avoided if she used even HALF of her brain. So no one is to blame but herself. No one can read minds and how she talked made it seem like everyone should have read hers. Even when she "pleaded with her eyes" - Okay yeah no. I'm sorry. People that see pleading are called empaths. Most people than not CAN'T READ FACES!!! So you can't blame them for something they can't even do. Good grief! 


This whole book was a mess. It sets a HORRIBLE example for teenagers, heck, for ANYONE who reads this really.

Saturday, July 8, 2017

The Rains (Rains #1) by Gregg Hurwitz

Synopsis

Title: The Rains
Series: Rains #1
Author: Gregg Hurwitz
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction/Aliens
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek’s Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding. Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen—and Patrick’s birthday is only a few weeks away.
Determined to save Patrick’s life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites—and what they find is horrifying.
Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity’s only hope for salvation.

My Thoughts
★★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I don't like SyFy... at all and the only reason I even picked up this book was because I thought it was about zombies. Yeah, no. I was wrong. I admit that. 

But...

I'm so glad I read this book. It started out really slow and actually, pretty annoying. But there was something about this book that just kept me hooked. I can't say it was the writing. The writing was actually really choppy through a lot of the book. But maybe it was the mystery of the story line of wondering what was going to happen. 

The characters only accomplished one thing and that was - piss me off. The main character is so whiny and is his big brother's shadow - not that he minds in the slightest - he depends a lot on his brother. But the MC was just so weak it made me want to rip my hair out and scream grow a backbone! If you can force yourself through that, around 80% he actually hits a breaking point and starts to develop a backbone - not completely formed by the end of the book sadly, but still in the make, imo. 

His brother was exactly what you expect. Popular, built - typical macho-hero type. The kind you really tend to hate. But... with this book, you can't hate him. It's not possible. He is perfect. The perfect boyfriend, perfect brother, and perfect shot to blow your head away. LOL! 

If there was ever a character you wish you could set on fire, it would be without a doubt - Ben. I honestly do NOT understand how NO ONE stood up against him. I don't get how they didn't attempt to exile him or something.... Okay, maybe I go. Exile the little turd and I am sure he would lead everything from the deepest pit of hell to the front door of the hideout. But still .... he should be shot. 

The ending really shocked me. I didn't see that coming at all. Really. If you forget to breathe, while reading it, just know you aren't alone because I know I held my breath to the last page. Lol the ending def sets you up to not want - but NEED to read book two.

Like I said, I am no fan of SyFy books, but this one I'd make an acceptation for. I NEED TO KNOW!!

Monday, July 3, 2017

The Hunted by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Title: The Hunted
Series: Knight's Academy #2
Author: Emerald Barnes
Genre: Young Adult/Supernatural/Paranormal
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Myka Williams has been forced out of Knight's Academy and is on the run, constantly moving to keep the vampires off her trail until Preston's venom is no longer coursing through her veins. But she isn’t alone.
Brent Jacobson is her protector, training her and teaching her how to be the werewolf she’s destined to be. He's annoying, stubborn—and hot. But there’s something he isn't telling her.
Myka has to come face-to-face with the truth of who she really is. Will she find safety, or will she always be hunted? 



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I read this book months ago but per request of the author, I wouldn't post my review until closer to the publishing day which right up on us! YAAAYYY!!! But, sadly, I lost my original review when my laptop fried. So, like the fanatic I am, I reread and here we go.

I have missed these character to much for my own good! Right away we are thrown back into the fast-paced-mind-blowing world of vampires and wolves, picking up where book one left off. Which I absolutely love. I love that about Emerald Barnes, she never leaves you wondering what happened between point A to point B. 

The Hunted was well written and kept me on the edge of my seat, borderline panic attack wondering what would happen. If you don't get so into this book that you don't hear people talking to you.... something is wrong (just kidding!) but really though. This book has so many dirty little secrets that just leave your jaw dragging on the floor. So not only are you on the edge of your seat, your jaw is on the floor..... mind the flies that may fly by. Lol!

While this story centers a bit more around Myka and Brent, I really thought we would see more of Milo. But I can't say I am complaining. I started out team Milo... Now ♫I am all bout that Brent bout that Brent no Milo♫ Hahha. At times Brent is a bit overbearing but I can see where he is coming from. 

There is so more I want to say - so. freaking. bad - but I can't because I would give away to much. And I don't want to do that. I want you to read this book and be in shock and awe like I was. 

That ending though! Em! How can you do that to us?! Where is book three!? We need it. We need it ... now! .... please. XD

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Suburban Zombie High by Jeremy Flagg

Synopsis

Title: Suburban Zombie High
Author: Jeremy Flagg
Genre: Young Adult/Trash/Zombies
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

Boxford High pranksters cause a chemistry lab to go wrong and students are forced to face something far worse than S.A.T.’s and cafeteria lunches – an infection that turns students into zombies scouring the halls for survivors.
A group of unlikely companions; an artistic goth, star-athlete jock, disgruntled loner, would-be marine, sassy cheerleader, and angry Asian, set aside their homework to fend off the zombie apocalypse. As they fight through locker rooms and dance their way across the theater, they find surviving zombies may be more difficult than puberty.
Now they must set aside homework and bake sale fundraisers to fend off the zombie apocalypse before the infection reaches beyond the walls of their suburban high school.




My Thoughts
★ Star
DNF @ 14% (Chapter 5)

I am a zombie fanatic. Obsessed really. Anyone that knows me will tell you I live and breath almost everything zombie. But this book... was a insulting mess. 

Normally I don't rate DNF books but I have so many problems with this book that I couldn't not rate it. I actually started highlighting all the parts that pissed me off. Sorry if feminism and racism pisses me off but it does. And by 14% there was more highlighted texts than not.

If you don't want to know possible spoilers, stop reading. But if you are curious to know why it pissed me off, by all means, continue.

While they are in gym class Jacob tells the teacher "no offense I don't see how this is exercise. It's just really slow dancing." to which Racist Min replies "T'ai Chi is an ancient martial art, cracker."
Jacob tells her to calm down and Racist Min then attacks him. To which the teacher just sits and watches. 

Min then says "I am calm like a running river." to which a boy replies "Wait, rivers aren't calm."
Min then gets pissed off and says "You're not Asian, you don't understand."

right..... Because race is what totally makes you understand some things. Because there is no way that people could just KNOW. They HAVE to be a certain race to know. Mulan would be disappointed in Min. LOL!

BUT WAIT! It's not over. Min then stands over Jacob who is still in pain and says "Don't fuck with rice power. Once I'm done kicking your ass, I will ruin you down with my Honda."

Only then does the teacher do something. Though sadly all she does was tell some other kid to take Jacob to the nurse and "let her know he mouthed off to Min."

Are. You. Freaking Serious. He didn't do anything! Just ugh! 

And we aren't done yet. Feminist-Marcotte orders the class to split in to teams and the last one picked has to "Run laps for being weak.
Riiiiiiiiight. Couldn't be because they are unpopular or something. They must be WEAK so they must be punished. Yeah, okay. 

and of course because she didn't assign captains, teens boys are fighting over who gets to be captains.
"Rodney and Tom, stop fighting or I'll kick your asses."
Ummm... those are kids you are screaming at. In school. You have ZERO right to cuss or threaten them. You should be fired.

and in case you are wondering where I got feminist from, she tells Min "I don't hate mean, I just think they're the weaker sex." Lol yeah okay. whatever you say lady. 


This book just pissed me off so much, I don't want to even try to finish it. this isn't even half of the stuff I have highlighted! I mean it makes me want to ask, was this book MEANT to be racist and feminist? (Rhetorical question)



Racist quotes from the book:

- "Victor, you're going to be the white man's cannon fodder."
-He was dumb, very dumb, dumber than the average white man.
-Another - another jealous cracker"
-"White woman's gone crazy."

There are tons more that I could write and I just find that incredibly sad that all this was bunched into the first 14%! If it is this bad now, then I am scared to know how much worse it gets later on. Normally I wouldn't call a book trash, but this one is. We literally have enough hate and junk in the world. I don't want to read about it. I just want to enjoy zombies. 

I don't recommend this book. Save your sanity. Dodge this book like you are dodging a baseball to the face.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Synopsis

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genre: Young Adult/Romance/Contemporary
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Star

A new age version of Boy In The Plastic Bubble

It's a strange thing to realize that you're willing to die. It doesn't come in a flash, a sudden epiphany. It happens slowly, a balloon leak in reverse.


This book was the greatest roller-coaster EVER! I honestly didn't expect to love this book as much as I did. Really. I was in one heck of a book slump and just picked this up to force myself threw to have something to do... or so I thought. 

I. Was. Wrong.

Once I started, I literally could not put it down. So I finished it around 3-am this morning and I am still like a fish out of water spazzing at how great this book was. 

This book really reminds me of Boy In The Plastic Bubble and I am really wondering if that is where Nicola Yoon got her idea from. Everything Everything was so wonderfully written and freaking romantic! I really HATE to say that (because I just do), but it was! It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me angry. I think every emotion you can possibly have, this book will make you feel it! 

Before I read this book, I was actually asked, "Would you give up everything for one perfect day?" and I actually laughed and said "heck no". but now that I have read this book, my answer is still no but it really made me think about that question. And I loved that about this book. Because you can be asked a serious question like that and just blow it off like "are you nuts?" then you read a book like this and it really make you think about that same question. It's awesome. 

I really loved this book. Even though I KNEW when her mom gave her the picture, I KNEW!!! I can't say what I knew because that is a massive spoiler but I knew how it would end, but I still freaking loved it! That is so awesome to me. Normally when I know the outcome, I lose the drive to finish it, I lose interest, I just force myself through the book but this one, thought I knew, I HAD to keep reading. I just had to. It kept me on the edge of my seat and left me wanting more! 

I want to say this book might remind you of other books/movies *cough-Boy In The Plastic Bubble-cough* yet it also makes say this book is one of a kind. It's weird and I have no other way to explain it. Hopefully I am not the only one who thinks this. Lol

I would highly recommend this book. I need 20 copies! Haha. 

(I'm pretty sure this review is scatterbrained, so I may come back and fix it later. Lol)

*also, I would like to add, yes, I hate Contemporary books but this one really blew me away*

Excerpts
"I don't hate it. I respect it." He holds up a single finger. "Respect.It's Mother Nature at her finest - awesome, beautiful, impersonal, murderous. Think about it: All that water and you could still die of thirst. And the whole point of the waves is to suck your feet from under you so that you drown faster. The ocean will swallow you whole and burp you out and not notice you were even there."

"Me in love would be like being a food critic with no taste buds, It would be like being a color-blind painter. [...]"

"It means you can do every [...] thing right, and your life can still turn to shit."

"It's a strange thing to realize that you're willing to die. It doesn't come in a flash, a sudden epiphany. It happens slowly, a balloon leak in reverse."

Saturday, July 1, 2017

{Random} Books in movies

Why aren't books in movies a thing?

So I'm sitting here having a Scream marathon *creepy voice* what's your favorite scary movie?

Anyway and I could help wondering... Why are books so rare in movies? I mean other than Harry Potter and Scooby-Doo. We all know Velma and Hermione keep their noses in a Book.


But scream for example talks about movies....kinda, Randy does get a little over excited in the movie rental place where he works. Lol (speaking of movie rentals, wow. Feels like forever ago. "Please be kind. Rewind." and of course, people rarely ever did. *rolls eyes*)

The Faculty did have a few books being g read by the one and only outcast but really I can't say it promoted reading. More like "snort this to make sure you're not an alien" hahaha


Shutter centered around photography...kinda. Man I only saw that movie once and it still haunts me. Sheesh. Who DOES that to someone. Smh.


Pulse scared the ever living crap out of me. I kid you not. I didn't touch my computer or phone for months. I never did get to see the second one, was it any good? Anyway! lol still no book readers!


We all know Gilmore Girls, Rory, reads constantly. Why can't there be loads of movies promoting reading?


I'm pretty sure you're looking at my post like "why did you even post this?"

Answer: I have no freaking idea. This movie just made me very nostalgic and I've realized every movie has its SOMETHING. Especially horror movies

(extra: by the way college students, horror movies can help you pass psychology class. I kid you not. I passed with flying colors because I was raised on horror. Haha!! )

Anyone know any movies that have books? The Craft doesn't count! Lol..... Or does it? O.o *dundunduuuuunnnnn*


Oh! Carrie is one! The original. Not the new one. I couldn't stand it (Sissy was the greatest!). That's just me though. Any one know any others? Let us fellow bookworms know!

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Poor Unfortunate Soul by Serena Valentino

Synopsis

Title: Poor Unfortunate Soul: A Tale of the Sea Witch
Author: Serena Valentino
Genre: Young Adult/Fairy Tales/Retellings
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


The third novel in Serena Valentino's (Fairest of All, Beast Within) "VILLAINS" trilogy, featuring the story of the Little Mermaid from the perspective of the sea witch Ursula.




My Thoughts
★★★ Star

Poor unfortunate souls In pain, in need
This one longing to be thinner, That one wants to get the girl
And do I help them? Yes, indeed
Those poor unfortunate souls


I was super excited to see this book and FINALLY be able to read it, but sadly I was let down horribly. I really expected this book to be about Ursula, it wasn't. She was only mentioned from time to time. 

I really liked seeing her back story though and finding out why she was so evil and I am glad I never liked Triton in the first place. Who knew he was such a freaking punk a** jerk! You gotta be a real low life to treat a person that way and then be angry and wonder why they turned out the way they did.

I wasn't a fan of how this was written either. It is told in around 4 or 5 POV with no indication as to who was telling their part of the story until later in the chapter or so. It was really annoying and I didn't see the point in half of them, really. I mean yeah, they are a part of the story but they weren't THE story. They were side characters. 
Also, the cat (I already forgot the name, I don't care). Any time she was brought up, instead of just saying her name, they described her. Again and again and again and again. Why? No, seriously. Why? We already know what she looks like, why the hell keep repeating? I should have kept track of how many times she was described. But whatever. 

Who the hell are the sisters? The Three Sisters which makes zero freaking sense to me because they are constantly looking for their missing sister.... soooo.... why keep calling them the "three" when they are actually four? And the only three sisters I know of are those hag witches who are turn your stomach because their skin is so gross, their hair is stringy and they are....blind? I think. or have one eye? I dunno. But the three in this book were constantly said to be beautiful, so I have no idea.

The ending was so anticlimactic. It was so boring it was dang near pointless to keep reading. Even though I am sure everyone knows how The Little Mermaid ends, it would have been nice to have a ending worth actually reading. This was was like like a deadpan voice going "oh no. she was harpooned." or something. 

All in all, it could have been better.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Synopsis

Title: To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Series: To All the Boys I've Loved Before #1
Author: Jenny Han
Genre: Young Adult/Romance/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?
Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.





My Thoughts
★★★ Star

A mix of Little Women, a bit of Fangirl and a bit of something else that I can't quiet put my finger on.

I have such mixed feelings about this book. I had heard so many awesome things about this book that I just knew I had to read it. I wanted to love it as much as my friends did, but sadly... I didn't.

Don't get me wrong, it is not a horrible book. It's just ... if the main character doesn't make you want to duct tape her mouth shut, then you have a very high annoyance tolerance. Lol I'm already not a fan of double names (but to each their own). Lara Jean just seemed extremely childish. Even her kid sister seemed more grown up that her. So starting off to mid-way through, I want not a fan of Laura. But most likely, she'll end up growing on you... like a fungus. 

Of other reviews I have read, tons of people hate Lara for "going after her sister's boyfriend" which makes zero sense considering that she liked him way before Margot started dating him, but whatever. 

A lot of the characters just out right pissed me off. Chris (shockingly) being the main one, she took a lot away from this book because any time she popped up, she just oozed "whore", which is sad especially since they are so young. When she did pop up though, it always left me wondering why she was there in the first place because it was like she was a stand-in or something just to keep the book going somehow. I dunno. 

The next is Peter and the only thing that goes through my head when I think about him is that song "I'm only gonna break - break ya - break your heart" or how ever it went. Lol I don't even remember who sang it, I just remember every radio station playing it every 2 songs till you thought your ears would bleed. 

I couldn't stand Margot. It was literally "MARCIA MARCIA MARCIA!!" but... Margot! Margot! Margot!


the whole story of this book was really interesting to be honest though it wasn't hard to figure out who sent the letters out... like.... as soon as it happened. Lol 
Also the constant "I'm Asian, I'm Asian, Asian this. Asian that." was overkill and a lot of times it was unnecessary. I can understand pride, but once your readers start rolling their eyes every time it is brought up, you're over pushing it. 

The story started off a bit slow and annoying (Mainly because Lara was so baby-ish and me constant "mommy" and "daddy" make you cringe and put the book down like "no. Just no" but once you get past that, it really sucks you in. Before you know it, you are done with the book ready to throw it across the room screaming "what kind of ending is that?!"
And I am serious... what kind of ending is that!? I need to know what happens next!

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge

Synopsis

Title: Jane of Austin: A Novel of Sweet Tea and Sensibility
Author: Hillary Manton Lodge
Genre: Adult/Romance/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Just a few years after their father’s business scandal shatters their lives, Jane and Celia Woodward find themselves forced out of their San Francisco tea shop. The last thing Jane wants is to leave their beloved shop on Valencia Street, but when Celia insists on a move to Austin, Texas, the sisters pack up their kid sister Margot and Jane’s tea plants, determined to start over yet again.
But life in Austin isn’t all sweet tea and breakfast tacos. Their unusual living situation is challenging and unspoken words begin to fester between Jane and Celia. When Jane meets and falls for up-and-coming musician Sean Willis, the chasm grows deeper.
While Sean seems to charm everyone in his path, one person is immune – retired Marine Captain Callum Beckett. Callum never meant to leave the military, but the twin losses of his father and his left leg have returned him to the place he least expected—Texas.
In this modern spin on the Austen classic, Sense and Sensibility, the Woodward sisters must contend with new ingredients in unfamiliar kitchens, a dash of heartbreak, and the fragile hope that maybe home isn't so far away. 

My Thoughts
★★★ Star

I admit, I have never read a Jane Austin book before. I have a few, but never read them because I am looking for something to give me a bit of a push into reading them. Jane of Austin started out promising and then a little less than half way though, flopped. It went from being unique to being just like every single other Contemporary book out there.  Girl in trouble. Guy saves girl. Enter guy two. Que up love triangles and insta-loves. So on and so on.

This book started out okay but then it just flopped in the worst way. The insta-loves were ridiculous. and it just dragged on and on and on about Texas. The constant non-stop Texas this and Texas that and I'm from Texas so I am better. Blah blah blah was overly annoying. I get everyone is like that because they are proud of where they come from but if they go on and on about How awesome they are because they are *insert state* - run. Run AWAY as fast as you can. Because they are anything but "good". Lol

I can't get over the insta-loves though. Just....are you freaking serious? I thought Jane was suppose to be this sensible adult. *snorts* No. Just no. She acts like a 14 year old.
Guy: I love you
Jane: *fluttery*
Guy: Marry me
It's been what? two weeks? if even that? Imagine the horrible example she is setting for her little sister. Not to mention she wants everything to be about her with zero respect for her older sister's thoughts. Her sister doesn't want to talk about something but Jane just goes on and on and on wanting to know WHAT happened and blah blah blah.

So yeah, there were some twists and turns, I suppose but nothing that was quiet enough to lift it out of it's flop.

And the fact that Jane does really get engaged literally 7 months after just meeting a guy makes my eyeballs hurt from rolling them so hard.


There were some good parts. I loved the fandom quotes. There was a bit of from the Hunger Games to some Lord of the Rings. So that was cute.

I liked this book. But it's not one I would automatically think of to recommend if someone were looking for a book. 

Monday, June 12, 2017

Counting Wolves by Michael F. Stewart

Synopsis

Title: Counting Wolves
Author: Michael F. Stewart
Genre: Young Adult/Mental Illness
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

The Breakfast Club meets Grimm's Fairy Tales in the lair of an adolescent psych ward.
Milly’s evil stepmother commits her to a pediatric psych ward. That’s just what the wolf wants. With bunk mates like Red, who’s spiraling out of control; Pig, a fire-bug who claims Milly as her own—but just wants extra dessert—Vanet, a manic teen masquerading as a fairy godmother with wish-granting powers as likely to kill as to help; and the mysterious Wolfgang, rumored to roam for blood at night; it doesn’t take long for Milly to realize that only her dead mother’s book of tales can save her.
But Milly’s spells of protection weaken as her wolf stalks the hospital corridors. The ward’s a Dark Wood, and she’s not alone. As her power crumbles, she must let go of her magic and discover new weapons if she is to transform from hunted to hunter.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Star

This book was NOTHING like I expected and it will stay with me for as long as I live. 

Ugh there is so much I want to say about this book but I don't want to give anything away! I don't want to take the magic away from any reader who will pick this book up. Because that is was this book was to me. Magic. 

I can promise you that when you read the blurb, you will think it is about one thing and when you read the book, your socks will be blown off. You will not expect how this book goes. 

It is a short read but SO POWERFUL! I loved every single one of the characters. Which I can confess is very very very rare. There is always a character or two or more that I hate, but not in this book. 

The writing was so amazing and so smooth it was like silk. It just flowed with no bump at all and it keeps you so enthralled. You will NOT want to put this book down because from page one, you will want to know how this ends. 

I am so in love with this book and so so so happy I was able to read it. Counting Wolves is a book I would HIGHLY recommend. 

**In addition, I have read a LOT of books involving all kinds of mental illnesses... and this one is the best one I have every read, hands down. 

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Synopsis

Title: An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads


Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.
On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun--but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl.
Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.



My Thoughts
★ Star
DNF: stopped on page 45

To be fair, I tried. I really really did. I had such high hopes for this book. I had been wanting to read it and every other book by John Green since the DAY I read and finished The Fault In Our Stars because it blew me away.

But An Abundance of Katherines was about as much fun as scraping your nails across a chalkboard. From the start we are introduced to Colin who has just been dumped for the 19th time by the 19th Katherine. Not Katie. Not Kat. Not Kittie. Not Cathy, or Rynns or Trinas, or Kays or even Kate. Nope. just K-A-T-H-E-R-I-N-E

That last bit annoyed you right? Well, that is page 15 for you. To make matters worse, from page one Colin is so freaking WHINY! I am talking, you will want to scream and rip your hair out. I have spent hours trying to find the perfect way to describe him and the ONLY word I can think is just plain PATHETIC! I literally could not stand it.

You know back in like 2006 when EVERYONE was a emo kid because it was THE THING to be? That is what he reminds me of. If you also remember, there was that HORRIBLE gosh awful song "I must be emo" ... that would be Colin's theme song. *cues up the hate and pitchforks* I know, I am a bad bad person for that, but... whatever, I guess. 

If you think this book couldn't get worse, flip to chapter 2, page 8. *Enter Hassan* 
If you think there is no possible way on earth to planet Pluto (yes, PLANET Pluto, if it was good enough to be a planet when I was growing up, it is good enough to be a planet now.) that nothing can be worse that Colin, you are dead wrong. You are dead now. Here is a rose. *tosses rose* 

anyway, you know those old creepy guys who are always somehow covered in dirt from head to toe smelling of old alcohol and vomit even though they never seem to leave their front porch? That is how I really imagine Hassan as a grown-up.

The exact second he steps on scene, we see him for the disgusting pig he is, I really have no other words for him. it's like he's one of those steroid using high school jocks that scream "hay sexy! y u not dancin up on dis dick?!" ugh, You know the ones I mean, the ones that just make your skin crawl and leave you wondering how they manage to figure out how to BREATHE. 


I could go on about the characters, but I choose to spare you. 
The writing was exhausting. I felt like I was dragging my eyeballs across the page and I will not lie, I was dragging my eyes so much, I must have checked out a few times because I would have passed 5 pages and have not read a single word, but man, it sure felt like I did.  And what the hell is the point of all the damn charts and footnotes? They weren't annoying, they were way way way beyond annoying. It was like I was reading a straight math book for shits and giggles. (pardon my french there) 


So, yeah, not one I would recommend.

But, if you don't mind pathetic, annoying characters... This just might be for you.
If you don't mind reading a math book for FUN... This book might be for you.
If you don't mind blood pouring from your eyeballs... This book might be for you.
If you don't mind your brain turning into liquid ... This book might be for you.


Good luck. May the odds be every in your favor, live long and prosper and the force be with you.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

90 Days of Different by Eric Walters

Synopsis

Title: 90 Days of Different
Author: Eric Walters
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Peer Pressure
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

On the last day of high school, Sophie's boyfriend breaks up with her. It turns out he thinks she is too predictable, too responsible, too mature...too boring.
When Sophie turns to her best friend, Ella, for comfort and reassurance, Ella just confirms what her boyfriend has said. And that hurts even more.
Then Ella comes up with a plan to help Sophie find her wilder side before college. In the ninety days between the end of high school and the start of university, she is going to arrange for Sophie to do amazing, new, different and sometimes scary things. Sophie has to agree to everything no matter what. And she has to share her adventures through social media.
Can ninety days of different create a different life? Can stepping outside your comfort zone help you find yourself?


My Thoughts
★★★ Star

My mother died and some part of me stopped living as well. I was too scared. I was forced to think about things I didn't have any answers for, to feel things I couldn't share with anybody, and there was nobody to talk to or ask. Nobody.


The book starts off with Sophie's boyfriend breaking up with her because she is "boring" "predictable" and "old" (all the because she is responsible ) in which after that happens, her "best friend" Ella pretty much takes his side and talks Sophie into doing 90 different things that she (Ella) plans before Sophie heads off to college.

(honestly that alone pissed me off because Sophie clearly tells her to begin with that she wants to read to kinda get ahead for college, which is SMART! College is freaking HARD. But no, no, suddenly now Ella gets a bug up her butt that Sophie HAS to do these. Ya know, now that she is grown and the time to play is over. ya know, she just HAS to do it NOW. Not years ago or anything. Ugh! Anyway!)


I hated this book. I hate to say that, but I really do. As well as every character. I wouldn't hate Sophie if it weren't for pages 47-51. Since when was fat-shaming people, screaming at elders, and throwing/eating other people's food "cool" and "liberating"? It made me sick to my stomach.

A lot of these "differents" (I really wish they had said challenges, not differents. Is differents even a word?) were interesting but quiet a few were dangerous and illegal. Which always lead me to think "Okay, she is your best friend but is not only endangering your life but could possibly ruin your chance of college if you get caught. Yeah okay. What a awesome friend that is. *eye roll*

Lets talk about the characters for a bit:
Sophie was a rug. Before you freak out saying "But she did those challenges!" sure, she did. but she was shoved into them. Kinda like those insane people who throw their kids in deep water to learn to swim saying "swim or drown". That's what that reminds me of.

This whole book was Sophie being peer pressured to do things that made her uncomfortable and borderline torture. Because gosh forbid she try to stand up for herself, Ella will just freak the hell out.

Sophie was a weak character.

Ella: you mean the Egotistical Narcissist Cupcake Princess? If there was ever a character I wish would die, it would be Little Miss Priss Ella. I love how she claims to be doing all of this to "help" Sophie but every single chance she gets, she makes it about herself. All she does is complain with these:
-"You're prettier than me"
-"Guys like you more"
-"When we walk into a room, I am invisible"
-"You're skinnier than me"
You know, THOSE kind. I wish I had kept count of how many times she said these. It was annoying.
She guilt trips Sophie nonstop through the whole book. Even at one time, Sophie hurts her wrist during a challenge and Ella literally freaks out because she went to the doctor to make sure it wasn't broken. She says (and I quote)

"How predictable - you need to have everything checked out. The doctor probably told you what a wonderful patient you were."-pg203

"You probably waited patiently in the waiting room, did what you were told, said please and thank you to the nurses and doctors. You know what I mean."-pg204


Like what in the hell are you SUPPOSE to do at a hospital!? Act a fool and get kicked out when you NEED their help!? Are you freaking mental!?

She then proceeds to (of course) not care that her so called best friend was hurt and demands "You haven't even asked how my date went!" which ends with Sophie apologizing purposefully and of course Ella counters with "Sorry that he didn't ask you out instead of me?"


Personally, I think Ella is the WORST kind of "friend"
And I really have to throw it out there that the whole flirting heavily with a 11 year old is not cute, funny, or adorable. It's disgusting.


Sophie's Dad: I am not really sure how I feel. I know he is trying to be a dad, but I felt like he wanted to be one of those parents that would rather be a friend than a dad. I think he was setting a really poor example for Oliver to grow into.


I loved the ending though. It was definitely awesome. All in all, I loved the writing, it flowed like magical liquid and the story line was definitely interesting and actually reminded me a bit of Fangirl.

All in all, I would not recommend this book but I wouldn't tell someone to not read it. It is really one of those books that you have to read for yourself to know if you will like it or not. It's one of those rare reads that will definitely have different views.




**side note from me: Sorry I used the names so much, there was no other way I could review it without using their names. It would have gotten confusing. Unless I used something like Rug and Egotistical Narcissist